It looks like you've lost connection to our server. Please check your internet connection or reload this page.
Jessie H.
Englewood, CO
documents edited
clients favorited
words edited
More About Jessie

I'm a Colorado native with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English Literature. I'm deciding on grad school at the moment, and stuck between further pursuing Literature, or going for a MS in Counseling with a focus in Higher Education and Student Affairs. I want to do approximately five-million things with my life, but editing is actually my dream job, and as long as I can always do it at least part-time, I'll be happy.
What types of documents do you enjoy editing the most?
I really enjoy editing anything and everything. For me, helping students find and fine-tune their voice is incredibly rewarding. I've edited everything from English 101 papers to 500-page fiction novels set in medieval England. That said, my favorite pieces to edit are fiction, creative non-fiction, anything historical, philosophy-focused papers, and anything to do with reporting on/responding to books. I have also discovered I really enjoy helping people with statements of purpose for college and/or job applications.
In what subject areas are you an expert?
My background is mostly in academic writing, and those types of papers come easiest to me. I'm really familiar with all of the style guides, but MLA and APA are second-nature at this point. I don't know if this can be considered a "subject area" but one thing I am really good at is noticing repetition of adjectives and adverbs that tend to make a piece bland and dry (like always saying "very good" or "very smart" or "very tired"), and having synonyms to replace them with. My brain is like a thesaurus.
What do you do when you’re not editing on Kibin?
I'm a higher education professional by day, with over three years of experience in student affairs and academic administration. I'm kind of a workaholic, but in my downtime, I read (for fun!), watch a ridiculous amount of TV via Netflix and Hulu (I can't stand commercials, so the few bucks a month is worth it), and play World of Warcraft or old-school NES games. I also have two dogs who are basically my whole world, so I spend a lot of time with them.

Best times to request this editor:

Every day (Monday to Sunday)

10:00am to 09:00pm
(GMT-07:00) Mountain Time

(This is not a guarantee of editor availability.)

Client Feedback and Praise